Book Review: The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund

The Best Laid Plans has reignited my love for the best-friends-to-lovers trope 💞, but while I really enjoyed reading this book and found it to have so much potential in its unique plotline, parts of the story, unfortunately, fell flat and with many issues left unresolved. 

As you might tell from the title and summary, this book primarily focuses on a high school girl’s journey to get laid. While this book is classified as Young Adult (14+), I would recommend younger readers to tread with caution because while I appreciate the sex-positive approach this book takes, it doesn’t discuss the topic with as much nuance as I would have liked. 🤫

THE BEST LAID PLANS by Cameron Lund

PUBLISHED BY Razorbill (Penguin Random House) on April 7th 2020

GENRES: Contemporary

PAGES: 368

ADD TO GOODREADS // BOOK DEPOSITORY

High school senior Keely Collins takes on firsts, lasts, and everything in between in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.

It seemed like a good plan at first.

When the only other virgin in her group of friends loses it at Keely’s own eighteenth birthday party, she’s inspired to take things into her own hands. She wants to have that experience too (well, not exactly like that–but with someone she trusts and actually likes), so she’s going to need to find the guy, and fast. Problem is, she’s known all the boys in her small high school forever, and it’s kinda hard to be into a guy when you watched him eat crayons in kindergarten.

So she can’t believe her luck when she meets a ridiculously hot new guy named Dean. Not only does he look like he’s fallen out of a classic movie poster, but he drives a motorcycle, flirts with ease, and might actually be into her.

But Dean’s already in college, and Keely is convinced he’ll drop her if he finds out how inexperienced she is. That’s when she talks herself into a new plan: her lifelong best friend, Andrew, would never hurt or betray her, and he’s clearly been with enough girls that he can show her the ropes before she goes all the way with Dean. Of course, the plan only works if Andrew and Keely stay friends–just friends–so things are about to get complicated.

Content/Trigger Warnings: underage drinking, sex, slut-shaming, unintentional manipulation, friendship betrayal, cheating

The Best Laid Plans follows the perspective of Keely Collins, a high school junior, who discovers that she is the last virgin in her small town’s high school. When she meets Dean, a super hot college guy, at her new job, she’s inspired to “become a woman.” The only problem is that Dean thinks she’s confident and ~experienced~ so she turns to her best friend, Andrew, to show her the ropes. 

Childhood-friends-to-lovers trope is maybe my new favorite trope. 😭❤️ I mean…come on! The angst, the pining, the FLAVOR!! I’m still forever a fan of enemies-to-lovers, but I have such a greater appreciation for best friends now. It’s just so cute to watch two individuals fall for the person they realize that they’ve always trusted and valued the most. (brb i’m #crying)

“If you’re contemplating having sex with someone, you should be able to be honest. If you can’t be honest, then you’re not ready.”

I honestly loved reading about Keely and Andrew’s friendship so much, and the whole time I was like ASDFGHJKL JUST DATE ALREADY(!!) 😍 Their BFF traditions were so cute, and I loved how their parents supported them too. Truthfully, I could have done without the other characters and side plots because those were where my issues came from. 

Many of Andrew’s friends were, to put it bluntly: horrible. ‼️ It’s likely that the author was trying to paint them in a “boys will be boys” perspective and show the double standard between men and women, but I wished their discussions of objectifying women had been challenged in-text as superficial and inappropriate. 

“I love you more than pizza.”

While the book itself is meant to be very “sex-positive”, the characters still talked about it as a taboo subject. It isn’t until the last 2 chapters of the book is sex discussed as something that depends on the individual. Similarly, there was a lot of unnecessary slut-shaming, primarily by other girls! 🤦🏻‍♀️

Overall, this was a quick read for me that I really enjoyed, but it also isn’t without faults. ✨ There was so much potential for the author to further challenge the taboo nature and double standards of sex. Still, I look forward to reading what Cameron Lund writes next!

Have you read The Best Laid Plans?

What were your thoughts?

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | YouTube

16 thoughts on “Book Review: The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund

    1. I’m glad that the content warnings were able to help you decide on whether or not to read it 🥰

      Like

  1. omg yes!! this book as so much potential. Although, the friends-to-lovers romance was nicely done, the important topics it ought to discuss and explore really was left unresolved at the end. You have perfectly pointed out what I felt like missing in this book! I completely agree about the side plots being ~problematic~ purely because it left unresolved at the end.

    Like

    1. Ahh I’m so glad that we had such similar thoughts!! I really enjoyed the main romance in this book because UGH THE PINING I LOVE IT!! but I also couldn’t say that this was a perfect book because the problematic aspects (because they weren’t addressed/challenged) makes me feel iffy too!

      Like

  2. when it comes to favorite tropes, I almost always say enemies-to-loves, but now that I think of it – childhood-friends-to-lovers is better! it’s heartwarming and cute, and the mutual pining!! is the best part!! i feel like in theory, this book could have been amazing, but with the problematic things you mentioned, i feel iffy about it now. thank you for your great review, though! it’s given me things to think about!

    Like

    1. ahhh right?? i love both tropes so much, but the mutual pining after YEARS of having a crush on the friend?? I’M CRYING IT’S TOO CUTE 😭❤️ i’m glad that you really enjoyed my review!

      Like

  3. Childhood best friends to lovers is definitely one of my favorite tropes now! It’s something I feel like i don’t read enough of, so I’ll definitely have to check out this book !! Lovely review ❤

    Like

    1. ahh i know!! i’ve been looking for more books with similar tropes just like it 😍 i can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this, jess!!

      Like

  4. Great review!! This one looks so cute! While I agree I do love enemies to lovers better… I do love a good friends to lovers once in awhile ☺️

    Like

  5. This is a super good review, Tiffany, I loved reading it!! And I loved the Taylor Swift music video gifs, you actually used them from my two favorite music videos of hers so that made me smile.🥺I love friends to lovers too so I might have to pick this up sometime?? Hope you’re doing well xx

    Like

    1. Aww thank you, Olivia!! Haha I had to!! The friends-to-lovers reminds me so much of You Belong With Me ❤️ I would love to hear your thoughts on this book~

      Like

    1. Aww thank you, Destiny!! I’m really glad that my review was able to help you decide on reading the book 😍 I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!!

      Like

  6. AH YES YES come to the dark side, childhood friends to lovers is my favorite trope of all times and it deserves all the love!! 😍 I so agree with you about the lack of nuance in the discussions, too. I expected something… a little different from what we got, in the end, with this book. The amount of slut-shaming and some of the characters’ attitudes made me a little mad, too and that’s too bad, it had so much potential otherwise 😦
    Loved your review! ❤

    Like

    1. IT’S SUCH A GREAT TROPE 😭❤️ I really loved parts of this book but I totally agree and wished that things had been better addressed. I hope her next book is better!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s