Book Review (ARC): I’ll Be The One by Lyla Lee (ft. My Annotations)

Calling all K-Pop fans and soft hearts in the world! This is the book for you. 💖

Filled with oh-so-fun K-Pop references and an entertaining cast of characters, I’ll Be the One was an enjoyable and meaningful read that challenges the beauty standards in the South Korean entertainment industry. 

I’LL BE THE ONE by Lyla Lee

PUBLISHED BY Katherine Tegen Books (HarperCollins) on June 16th 2020

GENRES: Contemporary

PAGES: 336

ADD TO GOODREADS    //    BOOK DEPOSITORY

Thank you so much to the publisher for providing me with an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review!

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity—perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy.

Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn’t dance. Wear bright colors. Shouldn’t call attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the glittering world of K-Pop, and to do that, she’s about to break all the rules that society, the media, and even her own mother, have set for girls like her.

She’ll challenge thousands of other performers in an internationally televised competition looking for the next K-pop star, and she’ll do it better than anyone else.

When Skye nails her audition, she’s immediately swept into a whirlwind of countless practices, shocking performances, and the drama that comes with reality TV. What she doesn’t count on are the highly fat-phobic beauty standards of the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden media fame and scrutiny, or the sparks that soon fly with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho.

But Skye has her sights on becoming the world’s first plus-sized K-pop star, and that means winning the competition—without losing herself.

Content/Trigger Warnings: fat-shaming, verbal abuse, diet culture

I’ll Be the One follows the story of Skye Shin, an aspiring K-Pop star, who successfully auditions and competes in a new idol competition show. ✨ All her life, she has been told that as a fat girl, she was not capable of being an idol, but she’s prepared to prove everyone wrong. 

As someone who appreciates K-Pop, I LOVED all the references and watching this story come to life. Shoutout to GFriend AKA my favorite group!!  It reminded me so fondly of my favorite entertainment competition shows such as Produce 101, and I enjoyed reading Skye’s journey throughout the competition. 

While the fun singing and dancing references are fun, Lyla Lee doesn’t hold back on the brutally harsh beauty standards in South Korean, especially towards K-Pop stars who are meant to be seen as an almost untouchable idol. For example, it is a normalized idea that women should not weigh more than 110lbs. 

Skye is scrutinized more strongly than other contestants on the show, and at times, the fatphobic comments and blatantly prejudiced ideals were difficult to read. 😭 It’s frustrating and hurtful, but unfortunately, it’s realistic. Still, we got to see Skye challenge these antiquated notions and let her confident self shine.   

I found it refreshing that Skye was able to befriend some of the female contestants on the show. While people may expect girl-on-girl hate to occur from the competitive nature of the TV show, genuine friendships can be formed which I have seen on my favorite shows. 

The romance between Skye and popular model, Henry Cho, was also fun and delightful to read, and their adventures also shed light on celebrity life and the expectations of them on social media. While it was cute and soft to read about, it didn’t overshadow Skye’s own personal journey. 

All in all, this was such an enjoyable read filled with my favorite K-Pop references, the fluffiest and cutest dog, and lovable characters. 💖 Despite the serious moments, it still was a fun read that flew by, and I would highly recommend it!

My Annotations 📝

 ‼️ WARNING: SPOILERS, SPELLING ERRORS, & FANGIRLING AHEAD ‼️

Have you read I’ll Be the One?

What were your thoughts?

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | YouTube

16 thoughts on “Book Review (ARC): I’ll Be The One by Lyla Lee (ft. My Annotations)

  1. Great review! And as a K-Pop fan (BLACKPINK!), I couldn’t agree more with the Korean beauty standard (especially if you’re an idol). Like, the amount of hate they receive when they couldn’t conform is unbelievable and unreasonable.

    Like

    1. asdfghjkl even if you don’t like kpop i think there’s still a lot to appreciate about the book!! excited for you to read it 🥰

      Like

  2. Okay I skipped the annotations but omg I’m so glad you liked it! I’m not a kpop fan but I’ll Be The One is our Read the Rainbow BOTM so I’m really excited to read it this month! Will definitely message you and fangirl about it 😀

    Like

  3. Great review, Tiffany!!! I’m so excited to read this book! ❤ (I won a giveaway some time ago and asked for I'll Be The One but due to covid and then bd being meanie, they haven't been able to send it – which makes my excitment so much unbearableee, I need it hahah)

    Like

    1. AWWW that sucks!! it’s ok the wait will be worth it!! i can’t wait to hear your thoughts 😍

      Like

  4. Aah, I saw you mention this book on Twitter and I put it on hold from the library because it sounded so good, and now that I see your review I’m even more excited! I love that this book breaks the “standard” beauty expectations for K-Pop stars, and honestly everything I hear about idol training in Korea just sounds brutal. I can’t wait to read this!

    Like

    1. Ahh I’m so excited for you to read it!! It’s a great sneak peek into the Kpop industry if you don’t know too much about it, and the characters and competition is super fun!

      Like

  5. This review made me want to read the book!!! i hope it gets picked for a subtle asians book 😭 either way i will def read it this year!!! also did u see jessica jung has a book that will come out this year too? i am so hype for all these kpop books omg

    Like

    1. I hope you love it!! and OMG YES. I feel like the plot sounds very similar to what she went through 👀 I definitely want to check it out!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s